Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Riddle us this, Batman

Hi folks,

Normally, we provide answers here, but today we have a question.

If you whois xpantivirus2008.com, it shows that the registrar is ESTDOMAINS (the actual owner is hidden, as usual).

If you look up the IP address of xpantivirus2008.com, it shows as

If you whois, _that_ shows as GOOGLE!

The question is .... why? All we can think of is that they have a sense of humor.



Friday, May 16, 2008

Here's a whoopsie to start the day

Hi folks,

One of the rolling headlines on AOL.com this morning is this ...

"Disgraced 'Oprah' Author Is Back",

and if you click on the link, you're taken to this page...

Attentive readers of this blog will immediately recognize that as being a probable fake codec, but not everyone is an attentive reader of this blog, and if you click the link, you're rewarded with this screen...

Folks, the rule is this ... if ever you have to install a codec to watch a vid, DON'T!!!. It's just not worth the risk. Btw, these guys frequently target MAC users too. It's increasingly common for them to look at your OS platform and offer up a MAC binary instead of Windows.

Btw, I know that AOL takes security seriously, so if they can get caught, anyone can get caught with this trick.

And shout-outs to Bruce for noticing this one.

Keep safe folks!